Question: Why is my Revit model grayed out?

Causes: The Autodesk Account that is signed in to Revit does not have an active trial or subscription to BIM Collaborate Pro assigned (formerly BIM 360 Design), specifically the subscription for Revit Cloud Worksharing.

Why is my Revit model greyed out?

Causes: The models were published to the Plans folder. … The option to publish to the Plans folder has been removed from Revit 2021 but in Revit 2018.3 to Revit 2020 it may still be visible. Models should only be published to the Project Files folder.

Why is make this a central model greyed out?

Maybe the problem is that there is no workset or workset is not activated in the project which is why it’s greyed out. Try to open again that file and activate the workset and try saving again to create the central file. Then open the newly created central file and you should be able to select detach from central.

Why is create new local grayed out?

Since Revit saves the location of the central file, it will detect if a user is accessing the file differently. … If UserB then attempts to create a new local file it will be grayed out as the location mapping varies.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do I find my AutoCAD 2021 product key?

Why wont Revit let me create a new local?

Cause: Revit is not able to either read the central model or write the local model. … Make sure that the Revit Options setting for Default path for user files (File Locations) is set to a valid location where you can read/write files. This is the location where the local model will be created.

Why can’t I make central model Revit?

The Central Model is in use:

If the checkbox is grayed out only intermittently this may be due to another user synchronizing at the moment that the file was selected.

Why can’t I detach from central Revit?

Causes: Revit cloud worksharing is different from the standard worksharing mode. When trying to open the model, it will not open the central model directly. The “Create New Local ” and “Detach from Central” doesn’t apply for this mode, and is disabled automatically.

How do I enable Workharing in Revit?

Enable Worksharing

  1. Open the project file (RVT) to use as the central model.
  2. Click Collaborate tab Manage Collaboration panel (Worksets). …
  3. If desired, rename the worksets.
  4. In the Worksharing dialog, click OK. …
  5. In the Worksets dialog, click OK. …
  6. Click File tab Save As (Project).

How do Revit Worksets work?

When you make a workset editable in Revit, you are taking exclusive ownership of all objects in it. Only one user can exclusively edit each workset at a given time. All team members can view worksets owned by other team members, but they cannot always make changes to them.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: How do I create an ANSYS CDB file?

How do I create a local Revit file?

Use this procedure if you have already opened the central model, and you want to create a local copy of it.

  1. Click File tab Save As (Project).
  2. In the Save As dialog, navigate to the desired location on the Revit Server network or on your hard drive.
  3. Enter a name for the file, and click Save.

Where are local Revit files stored?

When working on Collaboration for Revit files, local copies are saved at the following file path: C:Users%USERNAME%AppDataLocalAutodeskRevit<Autodesk Revit Version>CollaborationCache.

How do I create a detached model in Revit?

Disable Worksharing

  1. Click File tab Open.
  2. Select a workshared model.
  3. In the Open dialog, select Detach from Central.
  4. Click Open. The default file name for the model is the original filename with “_detached” appended. …
  5. In the task dialog, specify whether to preserve or discard worksets. …
  6. Save the model.
All about design